Beverley Anaru Memorial Scholarship Fund

Applications open 1 August 2021.


Mission / Whakatakanga

The Scholarships aim to assist full-time students who whakapapa to Te Arawa to complete a recognized tertiary qualification that will enrich their own life experience, community and ultimately, Aotearoa as a whole.





The Fund provides Scholarships for the advancement of education for Te Arawa descendants studying at NZQA Level 4 or above. It is envisaged that the recipients of these Scholarship will be committed to contributing to the development and prosperity of Te Arawa iwi, hapū and whānau.



Key Information

There are two types of Scholarships:

  • Postgraduate scholarships

  • Undergraduate scholarships

Scholarship Categories and Value





Postgraduate Scholarship: For students enrolled in a Master’s or PhD



Undergraduate Scholarship: For students enrolled in a NZQA recognised Bachelor degree or postgraduate certificate/diploma



Undergraduate Scholarship: For students enrolled in a NZQA Level 4 (or above) programme that is not a Bachelor’degree





The level of funding for each year may change following the annual review process. However, the total level of funding for the five-year duration of the Scholarship will not change.



Priorities for Funding

The Scholarships are available to full-time students who whakapapa to Te Arawa waka and who are enrolled at a New Zealand tertiary institute in a NZQA recognised course.



Eligibility Requirements

The characteristics sought are:

  • Te Arawatanga: You will be an active contributor to your Te Arawa iwi and/or hapū and have their endorsement.

  • Te Ao Māori me te Ao Pākehā: You will be capable, comfortable and skilled to walk in both worlds.

  • Te Reo me ōna tikanga Māori: You will be confident in your identity and culture.

Preference will be given to those students who: have completed at least one year of study towards a qualification;

  • have proven academic merit;

  • can demonstrate commitment to Te Reo Māori me ōna Tikanga;

  • can demonstrate commitment to Te Arawa iwi, hapū, whānau, marae;

The Scholarships are awarded annually and are for a one-year period.



Opening and Closing Dates

There is one funding round each year. Applications open on 1 August and close on 30 September.  Late applications will not be accepted.


Successful applicants will be notified by 30 November.




Successful applicants will receive funding in the following instalments:


  • 70% paid into their nominated bank account on the day the scholarship is awarded; and

  • 30% paid into their nominated bank account upon provision of an acceptable six monthly Progress Report OR in the case of the Postgraduate Scholarship recipient undertaking by thesis only - a statement of progress from their Supervisor.


Scholarships are available for the study of one course or degree only.


The successful applicant will be required to be available for interviews and to participate in promotional activities agreed with the recipient. Information about the gift and the way in which it has been used may be used by the Geyser Community Foundation for promotional purposes.


It is expected that the recipient will use the gift within 12 months of receipt.


Funding may be revoked if the recipient’s behaviour is inappropriate or the recipient has breached conditions of the Scholarship.



The 2021 Application form will be posted on 1 August.







Geyser Community Foundation, P.O. Box 1742 , Rotorua 3040, New Zealand | Phone : 07 349 7496 | Email: